Mango-Peach Grilled Chicken Tacos


This is a favorite recipe in our house. The original recipe is from the Neelys. I love them! I have this cookbook from them and it has yielded some of our most favorite go-to meals. I’m all about making recipes my own or changing them to suit our tastes. We are kind of a picky household. I’m not a huge fan of whole tomatoes (but i do like tomato sauce) or cilantro. So for this recipe I omitted the tomatoes and added green onions instead of cilantro to keep the great mix of colors in the corn salsa. Also, a couple of times I haven’t been able to find mango-peach jam but the grocery store always seems to have just peach jam. I found that using the plain peach jam doesn’t really alter the taste all that much.

SONY DSCI really enjoy finding the lazy route of making the recipes, that doesn’t affect the taste much. For this recipe I have done a few different things. Instead of grilling the corn on the cob and then cutting it off, I bought frozen corn and sautéed it. You don’t get some of the smokey flavor from the grill but when your in a rush its a short cut that doesn’t take away too much from the recipe. I have also bought canned jalepeños instead of having to chop up fresh ones. I used them in the sauce, not in the corn salsa. This step-skipper really didn’t alter the taste at all.  Lastly, one of my favorite short cuts comes from my good friend Rachael Ray. Ginger is right up there with garlic and balsamic vinegar in my book. Delicious. But very annoying to deal with. Rachael suggests peeling a root and then sticking it in the freezer. You can pull it out and grate some off anytime you need it. You never use the whole root in one recipe anyway. Saves time and money.

On days that I have all the time in the world or are having guests over, I add a little extra something to this meal by grilling the tortillas. It only takes a few seconds but when you have the time and patiences, it takes this recipe to the next level.

So those are all my tips and tricks. I hope you enjoy these tacos as much as we do. Happy grilling!

Ingredients

  • 4 (8-ounce) boneless, skinless chicken breasts
  • Extra-virgin olive oil
  • Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/2 cup mango-peach jam or just peach jam
  • 2 tablespoons soy sauce
  • 1 teaspoon lime juice
  • 1 teaspoon peeled, grated ginger
  • 1/2 small jalapeno, seeded, ribs removed, and minced
  • 12 ounces Boston or Bibb lettuce, leaves separated, or any lettuce you have lying around.
  • 3 green onions, thinly sliced on the bias
  • Neely’s Smoky Corn Salsa, recipe follows

Directions

Preheat a grill to medium-high heat.

Brush the chicken breasts with olive oil, and season with salt and pepper. Place the chicken on the grill and cook for 4 to 5 minutes, until golden and brown. Flip the chicken and continue cooking for 3 to 4 minutes on the other side.

While the chicken is cooking, add the mango peach jam, soy sauce, lime juice, ginger, and jalapeno in a saucepan and let the glaze simmer 3 minutes so the flavors can marry together.

Brush the glaze on the chicken breasts during their last minute of cooking. Remove the chicken to a cutting board when done and brush again with glaze.

Shred the chicken with a fork, or dice with a knife.

Place the chicken in flour or corn tortillas. Sprinkle with Smoky Corn Salsa. I like to have a bowl of left over marinade to pour on top.

Neely’s Smoky Corn Salsa:

  • 4 ears corn, husked
  • 2 teaspoons canola oil
  • Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 small red onion, diced
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh green onion
  • 1/2 jalapeno pepper, seeded and diced
  • 1 large garlic clove, peeled and very finely chopped, optional
  • Juice of 1 lime

Preheat a grill to medium heat.

Rub the corn with canola oil, and season with salt and pepper. Grill or broil the corn ears for 7 minutes or until the ears are lightly browned. Remove corn from the grill and cool.

With your knife, slice the corn kernels from the cob and add to a bowl.

Add the tomatoes, onion, cilantro, jalapeno pepper, garlic, and lime juice and toss well. Season the salsa with salt and pepper, to taste.

Here is the orginial recipe from the Neelys

2 thoughts on “Mango-Peach Grilled Chicken Tacos

  1. Yum! This looks so good and easy…Plus pretty healthy. I’m a 30 something mom of 3 and and I’m always trying to find creative (but simple) ways of incorporating healthy meals to cook. My hubby and I both work full time so by the time we get home if we haven’t planned ahead then home cooked dinner is a fail! He beats me home so does most of the cooking…he’s a bomb cook too! I’m so grateful! Lol! I really want to try this recipe though for when I get in the kitchen to cook and I so appreciate the little tips and references (like the ginger! Yes Rachel Ray!). It’s just what a busy mama/wifey like me needs! I’m really diggin your blog and will definitely come back to it for a good read. I truly appreciated your post about the pitfalls if social media too which led me here. Wowzers did that speak so powerfully to me and I feel really compelled to share that. Thanks again!

    1. Hey Keinya-when you try the recipe I hope yall love it as much as we do! I can imagine how hard it is to get home cooked dinner on the table with you both working. This recipe would be pretty easy to make ahead and reheat for dinner too. I’m home with my little guy and its still hard! Thank you for all your sweet comments, its an encouragement to me!

Leave a Reply

