Confessions of an Ice Cream Addict


I’m going to start this blog off right…by blaming my problems on my parents. Seriously though, we were a snacking kind of family, especially at night. And especially of ice cream. There was always ice cream in the house, I mean always, and from a young age I started topping off my night with a little “cream in a cup”. We didn’t actually call it that but we did usually eat our ice cream from a mug, that was my dads habit. Those formative years of ice cream eating shaped me into the ice cream addict, I mean enthusiast I am today.  I still eat my ice cream out of a mug (when I’m not eating it right out of the pint…shhh) but now a days I make my own ice cream. If you love ice cream you have to get an ice cream maker. I have the Cuisinart Ice Cream Maker and its not super big but super easy to use.  I love it.  I have made a lot of different kinds but one of my favorites and the one that people always rave about is Vanilla Cinnamon. I recently made some for my dear friend for her birthday. Clearly she likes ice cream as much as I do. I ended up freezing it in a mason jar (who knew you could freeze mason jars? not me). Made for a tasty and cute gift.
SONY DSC Vanilla Cinnamon Ice Cream 1 & 1/4 Cups of whole Milk 3 Cups heavy cream 1 Cup Granulated Sugar 2 Tablespoons Vanilla Extract Several Dashes of Cinnamon (to taste) Combine the milk and sugar and stir until the sugar is dissolved. You can use a mixer or by hand. Add remaining ingredients and stir until combined. Turn on the ice cream maker and then add mixture. Let churn until the consistency is about the consistency of soft serve ice cream. About 25 minutes. Transfer to a freezer safe container and freeze for several hours or overnight. And Enjoy!

11 thoughts on “Confessions of an Ice Cream Addict

  1. If you use raw honey, it’s a lot healthier and just as tasty. 🙂 3 cups of milk and 1/3 cup of honey works really well. My family makes it all the time!

  2. you could also try almond milk to make it healthier and then you wont have to feel guilty after you accidentally consume a half gallon:)

    1. awh its my cousin! 🙂 Your right, I’ve never tried to make ice cream with almond milk yet though Trip would appreciate it since he’s lactose-intolerant. It is in my plan to try though so he can have some too. I’ll let you know how turns out when I try it.

Leave a Reply

