True Confessions

SONY DSC

This looks amazing doesn’t it? It was inspired by this recipe that I found on Pinterest. It’s blackberry chipotle chicken with onions and spinach over a baked sweet potato. But I’m not going to give you the recipe. The problem is…it actually wasn’t that good. It was such a shame since the pictures turned out so great but hey, not everything I cook turns out the way I envision. So why am I blogging about it? I’m blogging about it because it wasn’t a slam dunk.

Let me explain. One of the visions that I had when I started this blog was for it to be an honest blog. A blog that would give you a peek into the successful projects, recipes and adventures I try and the not-so-succeful ones. This may not be great blogging strategy but I want to do it for three reasons. One reason is for myself. I know I have only been blogging for like 30 seconds but I already feel the temptation to blog in a way that essentially communicates that all I cook is incredible meals and all my projects become staple pieces in our home. The problem is, that just isn’t true. To fight the temptation to make myself seem flawless to everyone who reads this, I want to make a point of writing about my successes but also some failed attempts too. The second reason is for you. I really enjoy reading blogs but I often find myself slightly depressed after reading them. I think it’s because it seems like everything those bloggers touch turns to gold; every outfit they wear is magazine worthy and every recipe is mouth watering. The problem is, that just isn’t true either. There is nothing wrong with just posting all the amazing things you do. I don’t think anyone would want to read a blog about all the things I suck at. But only posting about the things that turn out great just isn’t an accurate reflection of me.  I want people to leave this blog inspired by my good ideas and comforted by the fact that sometimes I have bad ideas, just like everyone else. The third reason is because I think failing is an important part of the creative process.  Thomas Edison failed thousands of times before he finally got the light bulb right. My husbands has worked on hundreds of songs that never make an album. Sometimes its all those failed attempts that help make the successes so successful. I personally prefer to learn by failure as opposed to following directions strictly. I let my creativity take me where it will and see how it ends up.  Sometimes its a slam dunk, sometimes its not, but I usually learn a lot along the way.

So there you have it. I hope you enjoyed this post about a really yummy looking recipe that wasn’t that yummy.

(Note: The original recipe might be amazing, but I didn’t try it. I just took inspiration from it.)

9 thoughts on “True Confessions

  1. Thanks for being willing to show that you mess up sometimes! You’re right, blogs can become like soap operas of the old days sometimes and make me grow discontent.

  2. The pic looks good btw I love ur post and your right sometimes we mess up but that’s the way of life I saw a pic showing a heart monitor and it said without the ups and downs in are life where dead so true

  3. Wow.. Finally someone who shares my sentiments! I think it’s important to see every aspect of an idea or a thing that someone does
    Keep up, can’t wait to read more..:)

  4. It really does look great. Love the fact that you’re honest about how it turned out because that’s something I rarely see in social media. Keep trying practice makes perfect! 🙂

  5. Loved this post! At times it can feel so discouraging to see all the things other moms are doing on facebook and pinterest, and it can leave you feeling inadequate. “Wow, I don’t vacuum the house daily.” “How come this recipe turned out so gross.” “My kids are screaming and coloring mullets on each other.” “I must be doing something wrong.” Thanks for keeping it real and showing us all what a creative life is truly like!!

Leave a Reply

