Book Worm


I love reading. I usually cycle through different phases though. Some months I won’t read anything at all and then other months I will devour several books. I end up reading a lot in the summer for some reason, maybe because there’s never anything good to watch on TV. I was inspired to review/recommend some of my recent reads and all time favorite books since I have been reading a ton this past month since we aren’t watching TV. Some of you reading this may be stuck inside from all the crazy snow that is happening around the country, why not curl up with a good book?
photo-1-11. Divergent Series by Veronica Roth: I just finished this series and read all three of the books in an almost shameful short amount of time. I was hooked right away. I really love reading series books, its fun having more of the story to look forward to. This book is a lot like some of the other teen fiction, post apocalyptic, female heroin, love story books that have become popular in the last few years. I am a big Hunger Games fan and blew through those books a few summers ago. In my opinion and in what I have read in this genre (ie Hunger Game, The Uglies Series) this is probably my second favorite. I really loved it but I still think Hunger Games takes the crown. I didn’t love the ending but I didn’t hate it either. I really liked the two main characters development throughout the books and the world the author created is pretty interesting. Its super easy read and very entertaining. If your feeling the pangs of loss after reading the Hunger Games I think you would enjoy this a lot. I’m really looking forward to the movie coming out in March!
Redeeming%20Love%2020th

2. Redeeming Love by Francine Rivers: Francine Rivers is easily my favorite author. I’m on a mission to read all of her books. Redeeming Love is one of her most popular books and is based on the book of Hosea. I read it in college and it is a book you will never forget. One of the things I love most about her writing is that it is both fun to read and edifying. When I read her books, even though its fiction, my heart is challenged and encouraged. She also has a series called “The Mark of the Lion”. It takes more chapters than I would like to get hooked in but its definitely worth the persistence.

Booknotes-0023. A Cuckoos Calling by Robert Galbraith aka J.K. Rowling: I just finished this book a few weeks ago. This is one of two adult fiction books that Rowling has written (she is the author of the Harry Potter series for those of you who don’t know). This is a good read. Its a suspense/mystery novel about an investigation into a girl who allegedly committed suicide. I don’t think I have ever read a book in this genre before and I really enjoyed it. Although because you’re so focused on finding out the truth the journey isn’t as fun as the last couple chapters. My only warning for this book is that there is some strong and frequent language.

Gatsby_1925_jacket4. The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald: I reread this book last summer in anticipation for the movie. I really love watching books come to life on the big screen but I almost always feel like the book is way better, so I never want to spoiling a good book by watching a mediocre film. In this case I thought the film was fantastic! This is a classic and most people probably read it in high school. I found that classic books are classic for a reason, they are just that good. I think Fitzgerald’s writing style is what sets this book apart. Its not always the easiest to read but its worth it.

awomanswisdom5. A Woman’s Wisdom: How the book of Proverbs speaks to everything by Lydia Brownback: I wanted to put a non-fiction, Christian living type book up because I do read a lot of that. Although I don’t typically enjoy reading non-fiction as much as I do fiction and autobiographies. It’s just a different kind of experience. It takes a lot more effort to read non-fiction especially if you plan on getting anything out of it, however it can have a much more helpful, long lasting effect. This book is one of my favorites its very practical but also very biblical. It strikes the perfect balance between how we should “work out our salvation” and the fact that Chris is the one who works in us and apart from him we can do nothing worthy of praise. It’s perfect for an individual read or to go through with a group or friend.

I hope to do this every few months and I am always looking for recommendations so please leave some in the comments if you have a favorite.

9 thoughts on “Book Worm

  1. Thank you for posting this list. I look forward to reading some of the recommendations. I just finished A Woman’s Wisdom and really was challenged by it. Definitely one that I’ll go back to in the future.

  2. Leaving Yesterday by Katherine Cushman is definetly a good read. I found it @ one of those book stores that sells out of print books though so I don’t know how easy it’d be to find. It was hard to get into but once you get to the middle you wont want to put it down.

Leave a Reply

