D is for Dragon

SONY DSCWhen I was pregnant with our first little person, I went through a serious crafting phase. I was so excited to decorate the nursery and did a lot of DIY projects for the room. You can see the whole room on this post, but I thought I would highlight one of my favorite projects a little closer. I got inspired by various pictures on Pinterest to do some kind of alphabet wall and once I got to the craft store, the vision just came to me! I picked up some wood letters, some paint and a few pieces of foam paper. My favorite part about this project was coming up for the word I would use for each letter. Some of them were super easy like A, (duh, A is for apple, A is always for apple) but letters like N and V were harder and required a little more creativity. I decided to do the whole alphabet but I think it would be really cute to do the letters of your kids name.

fourlettersThe hardest part of this project was trying to figure out how I wanted to display them on the wall. The first way I tried was to glue them to a rope and hang them like a banner but that didn’t really work out. I ended up displaying them in a few different frames, you can see one of them below. There were so many different possibilities it was hard to choose so, when my son accidentally damaged one of the frames recently, it is giving me a chance to try a different display. I haven’t gotten around to it yet, but I’ll try to update when I do.

SONY DSCSeriously, this was a super fun and inexpensive craft. The letters I chose were a dollar a piece, though I’m sure they have cheaper ones too. I had a ton of paint already but probably bought 4 or 5 more colors and the foams sheets were about a dollar a piece as well. The whole thing probably cost about 40 bucks. Of course it would be cheaper if you didn’t do the whole alphabet. I really love how it turned out. I don’t think I will be crafty like this for baby number two. Well, maybe I’ll think of something. Any ideas?

3 thoughts on “D is for Dragon

Leave a Reply

