Birchbox Favorites


SONY DSCHave you ever heard of Birchbox? I hadn’t before I started reading blogs. Basically its a monthly perscription for beauty products. Every month they send you a little box with 5 samples of beauty products ranging from lip gloss, to nail polish, to eye liner and much more. Its only 10 bucks so I decided it would be fun to try out. I’m not really big on beauty products. I don’t spend hours in Sephora or Ulta. I usually stick to brands you could find at any CVS and when I find something I like, I stick with it. One of the things I love about Birchbox is that it introduces me to products I would probably never try or seek out. One of the things I don’t like about Birchbox is that the products are usually on the more expensive side (at least for my standards). I have really enjoyed the products each month but it take a lot for me to like it enough to order it in the future. A lot of bloggers will review the Birchbox each month but I think it made more sense for me to give you the highlights over these couple months since there are only a few items I will really stick with.

1. Benefit Ultra Plush Lip Gloss (in Sugar bomb): I don’t wear lip gloss a lot, mostly because my husband hates it but when I do wear it I go for something subtle. I love this gloss, its not sticky and the color is subtle but really pretty. I haven’t bought the full size yet and I might not ever, not because I don’t love it, but because lip gloss lasts me a LONG time.

2. Juice Beauty Green Apple Peel: I have never used a peel regularly but this peel is the bomb. I love putting it on before I take a bath and really let it set in. My skin honestly feels differently after I take it off. It feels clean, tighter and blemishes or redness are less visible. I did order the full size and just got it in the mail this week. It is definitely on the expensive side but since it is something I would only be using 1-2 times per week, I’m hoping it will last me a long time. Also, when it comes to taking care of your skin, I’m more likely to spend the money. I don’t wear a lot of make up and when my skin is looking great, I can wear even less.

3. Marcelle BB Cream Golden Glow: I almost never wear foundation and so when the BB cream craze came around I tried a few but never found anything I really liked but I love this Marcelle product. It gives you pretty good converge and it feels more like tinted moisturizer, super light. Its also more than I would usually spend but I have used the sample so much I think it might be worth it for me. I got this product in my very first box and I am still using the sample size so I think when I do order it, it will last me a while.

4. Beauty Protector, Protect & oil: This is by far my most favorite product. It is one of few products I fell in love with the very first time I used it. I decided right away I would order the bottle. I had been searching for a smoothing cream or oil for the ends of my hair because my ombre dye has really dried out my ends. This stuff made my hair silky and beautiful. You can use it on wet hair before you use the hair dryer (which is good since it is a heat protectant) but you can also use it on dry hair as well. I am obsessed! It also helps that it smell like a candy store! I highly recommend it.

Do you have any favorite products? I would love to share some of my other every day favorite products, let me know if its something you would want to hear about.

5 thoughts on “Birchbox Favorites

  1. I just discovered your blog and I love it! It’s easy to follow and enjoyable to read! I’m a fan!!
    Like yourself, i’m not too big on buying a bunch of products..but that green apple peel and beauty protector oil seem like a winner. Regarding the face peel: I’ve tried to cut back on wearing makeup and focus on improving the health/look of my skin, and as you mentioned, the better my skin looks the less makeup i’de need anyway! Regarding the hair oil: Since i’m African American I have really dry hair naturally, so i’m always looking for a product that moisturizes without leaving a greasy residue or weighing my hair down.

    Can’t say if or when i’ll try these products, cuz i’m also a CVS kinda girl lol..but thanks for the recommendations!

    • hey Brittany! So glad you stumbled upon the blog! Sounds like we are cut from the same clothe lol. Just fyi on the hair oil. Obviously our hair texture is probably so different but I was reading a lot of reviews on the product and found that it is a great for all different hair types so it might be a good thing to try out! Thanks for stopping by and commenting!

Leave a Reply

