Canvas Animal Heads


SONY DSC
It was a project week for me. I don’t get to do stuff like this often and it was very fun channeling my inner painter. I have had these two canvases for months and actually bought them with a totally different plan in mind but I’m really happy with how it turned out.  I’m kind of obsessed with the animal head trend that’s happening in interior design right now. You know the animal heads that are not real animal heads but mounted like ones and all white or gold. Love them. I’ll walk you through my process for making the paintings, but just warning you, this will not be a super detailed “how-to”.
SONY DSCOnce I found the images I wanted to replicate, I sketched a much larger version onto some sticker paper. I’m really not that great of a drawer so this was probably the most tedious part for me. It took a lot of time to get it just right since I was free-handing it. Once I was satisfied, I cut out the image from the sticker paper and put it on the canvas. Unfortunately it really didn’t stick as well as I thought it would, but it was enough to get the job done. After that, I just painted over it carefully.
SONY DSCAfter the paint dried a little, I peeled the sticker paper off to reveal the white canvas underneath. Since the sticker paper wasn’t as effective as I hoped, there were lots of areas that needed to be cleaned up. I then painted the white canvas area with white paint. This let me clean up any edges where paint got under and make it a brighter white. And that’s it.
SONY DSCI made these for the walls in the play room/office. The room is almost entirely windows so I really wanted something for the small space that was available, to bring a little color in the room. I think it was a success! Have you done any fun projects recently?

7 thoughts on “Canvas Animal Heads

  1. I LOVE how these turned out! I’ve been trying to work on my painting skills lately–I painted an old canvas bag I had the other day & it’s had me pumped to work on some more 🙂

    • that sounds like a fun project! Don’t know about you, but I find it really relaxing working on creative things like this

  2. I just love the deer!

    I recently did something similar, however now you’re making me wish I did something more creative…good thing there’s still space on my wall!

Leave a Reply

