Hotlanta

We just got back from an amazing trip to Atlanta and I wanted share some of my favorite moments. My husband had some meetings to go to and I got to tag along to see friends and enjoy the city. I love Atlanta, it has a special place in my heart. It has amazing shopping, incredible food and beautiful neighborhoods. It has all the hustle and bustle of a big east coast city but people are actually nice and have that good old southern hospitality. It also helps that a lot of people that we love are in Atlanta and its just great to visit friends. As usual my friend Shawndra took me to some great new places, she has introduced me to almost all my favorite places in Atlanta. She is the same friend who explored this flea market with me and was my partner in crime in NYC. The restaurant above was one of our first stops. Daddy D’z. You can ask my husband that atmosphere is almost as, if not more, important than how good the food tastes when it comes to eating out. If I get good vibes, I’m usually a fan. Daddy D’z was homey and eclectic in the best possible way. It felt very authentic, kind of like you were eating at someones house. It wasn’t glamorous but that’s what was good about it, just some delicious southern BBQ. SONY DSCThis darling little coffee shop was another favorite stop. It was very communal with lots of long tables and these amazing lamp shades and umbrellas hanging from the ceiling. What added to its charm was that it was nestled on a little block that had about 8 other neighborhood establishments. These kind of blocks are all over Atlanta and I’m kind of obsessed with them. Locally run stores are so inspiring to me, something about thriving business thats not apart of some big chain reminds me of the uniqueness of people and I really enjoy supporting them. SONY DSCI could really see myself spending some long hours in a coffee shop like this, and of course the coffee was very good as well! SONY DSCIf you don’t already know about my love for ice cream, you can check out this post. This trip turned into a bit of a battle of the ice cream stores. There is an ice cream store called Morelli’s that I have been obsessed with for a few years and my sister-in-law has been raving about a place called Jeni’s for months. I planned on making a trip to both while I was there. Shawndra also took me to a delightful little confection store called Kilwin’s and she happened to know the guy working at the time. Lets just say I might have sampled all 31 of their flavors and then had this giant bowl of ice cream you see above. It was delicious! We only made a quick stop at Morelli’s to pick up some ice cream for a girls night so unfortinalty I didn’t get any pictures. I have to say that Morellis is the reigning champ in my opinion, although my sister in law is appalled by this. SONY DSCI will say that Jeni’s was very charming and their ice cream was very good just not my kind of style. They had pretty eclectic flavors and some interesting combinations. I’m just more of a down-home kind of girl when it comes to my ice cream flavors. SONY DSC

I didn’t get any great pictures of the restaurant but this is us at one of my favorite restaurants, Murphy’s. The food is amazing and it has a great atmosphere. We basically shut the place down talking and eating delicious desserts. This night was definitely a highlight of the trip.

We make it to Atlanta fairly often so if you’re from Atlanta or have some places you love there, I would love to hear about them!

8 thoughts on “Hotlanta

  1. ‘it has the hustle and bustle if an east coast city but people are actually nice’ Hahaahaa! Great quote

    I was thinking of visiting ATL a while ago but put it on the back burner indefinitely (mainly because I know 0 Atlantans!) BUT it just looks so lovely…not to mention I love eating lol

    I’m putting this one back on my to do list, I figure the extra weight and blind tourism will be worth it…

  2. A place called Cami Cakes in Atlanta has thee best red velvet cupcake I’ve ever tasted! There’s a location in Vinings and on Peachtree St. I’ve been on a quest to find one that compares but none have topped it, though I haven’t tried Georgetown cupcakes in DC yet.

Leave a Reply

