Toddler Swag

I know I’m not the only mom out there that loves dressing up their kid. I’m actually dreading the day he is old enough to ask to wear some hideous mismatched outfit. Until then, I will enjoy every second I get to dress him like a little man. We are grateful that our family has been insanely generous with buying him clothes and also happens to have impeccable taste, so I can’t really take credit for his swag. I just get to be the person that picks which awesome outfit he puts on. Though, I would be lying if I didn’t occasionally go crazy in Target or H&M for him. I think I enjoy shopping for my son more than myself. I think he is the cutest kid on the planet not matter what he wears (in fact, I’m often tempted to keep him in his diaper so I can see his squishy baby belly) but here are a few favorite outfit moments.
SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSCSo while I am sharing something about my son, I thought I would also take this opportunity to explain briefly why I don’t often blog about my son or pregnancy and why I’m deliberately not a “mommy blog”. Here is a quick list, though this doesn’t represent my comprehensive thoughts on this subject.
1. Privacy is really important to me/my family: We are certainly not being followed around by the paparazzi (not even close) but my husband does have a public ministry and is probably being googled more than your average person. This makes me more careful and selective about what I put on the web for all the world to see. I like to keep personal stuff, well personal.

2. I want to respect my kids as individuals: First let me say I don’t think there is anything wrong with blogging and posting about your kids! But I try to keep in mind that whatever is posted on the internet, can live on the internet forever. I want to be respectful of what my kids might not want online when they are old enough to care. Even though he is not even two, he is still his own person, and I want to limit what I put on the internet before he is able to chime in himself.

3. I just don’t want to: To be honest, I spend all day running around after and caring for my little guy. I love being a mom but after we put him down or when I get a break, the last thing I want to do is blog about being a mom. I started this blog to be a creative outlet for myself and its a chance for me to focus on things that I love to do. That might sometimes include an aspect of being a mom (like dressing up my kids, or planning his birthday party) but it’s usually not.

so there you have it. In case you ever wondered why my amazing little people don’t make it on the the blog very often, that is why!

I’d love to hear if you have thoughts on what you put up about your kids on the internet.

I’d also like to point out the small victory of me posting twice in one week! Here’s to hoping I can keep that up! Have a great weekend

 

 

4 thoughts on “Toddler Swag

  1. AWWW Jess hes so cute!! 🙂 😀 Btw I really love what your doing with public and personal decisions for your blog can’t wait for your next post. P.S. Congrats on posting two times a this week.

  2. He is downright adorable..I just want to comment on the squishy belly comment…I love that too! I purposely dress my little brother up in tight clothes 2 accentuate his lil’ belly. Thank God for onesies!

  3. Looks like this could be a spread in Baby GQ magazine…if such a thing existed lol…and the third pic has so much personality! lol

    I like your perspective on privacy point #2. I had never thought about the fact that what’s posted on the internet is kinda out there in cyber world forever, so it makes sense to respect your son in this way.

    Thanks for posting 🙂

Leave a Reply

